At this year’s Anuga, the Micarna Group will be presenting traditional Swiss products, including the renowned reduced-salt Natura Bündnerfleisch and a comprehensive animal welfare project concerning poultry farming (Alpigal), and three top innovations as part of the Taste 17 special exhibition – including, as a world premiere, the first Micarna snacks made from insect protein powder.

Our eating habits are changing. These developments not only involve new flavours, but in particular the search for completely new approaches to meat production, manufacture and processing. Food production in general and the meat industry in particular are in a state of flux. New foodstuffs such as insects, but also our need for fast and simple snacks, mean that manufactures are called on to be truly innovative. During the Anuga event, the Micarna Group will be presenting its response to just these developments. “We will highlight the possibilities created by this process of change, new ways of enjoying our food and the changes that can also be expected in terms of animal husbandry,” explains the Group’s Director, Albert Baumann.

Pop-Bugs: A sophisticated insect snack as a perfect conversation topic (Taste 17)
How will this world of tomorrow taste? How can we continue to surprise our consumers in the years ahead? These are exactly the kind of questions being tackled at the food fair in Cologne. Micarna will also be presenting three very special products at the Taste 17 special exhibition, among them its new Pop-Bugs. “Officially our first snack with insect protein,” says Albert Baumann. Naturally, Micarna’s Director tried out this innovation for himself some time ago, and is enthusiastic about the meatballs with insect protein powder. “On the one hand, because the issue of insects as a supplement to our diet is both important and current. On the other hand, because our Pop-Bugs just look good.” Packaged in an innovative cardboard box with integrated serving function, the Pop-Bugs can be presented in their sophisticated packaging with the accompanying dips and eaten as they come. “Not only great to share, but also a perfect conversation topic.”

Chickies: A protein supply for on the move (Taste 17)
The raw materials of our diets are changing, and so is the way in which we consume our products. Chickies – the second Taste 17 product – are a response to this change. The chicken snacks in the form of small cubes are a perfect snack – at school, on a hike or when doing sport with friends. “Micarna Chickies are the perfect response to the current discussion surrounding the issue of a low-fat diet,” explains Albert Baumann. “The combination of chicken cubes with cherries and honey is not only a unique taste experience, but it is also a healthier snack than sugary foods.” Micarna Chickies are available in resealable snack packs, making them the perfect protein supply for on the move.

Fleur de Viande: A spice mix for lovers of the alps (Taste 17)
This one is less of a quick snack and more of a product to be enjoyed as part of a cosy evening at home – which is exactly why the new Fleur de Viande was developed: meat in a spice mix. This innovation might sound a little strange to begin with, but offers a perfect blend of two top-quality products from Switzerland. “Fleur de Viande is a combination of our Natura Bündnerfleisch and the finest Swiss Alpine herbs.” The innovative dual-chamber spice mill enables the meat and herb parts to be dosed individually at the table, and provides the perfect basis for interesting discussions about the most popular seasoning. The new meat and spice combination is available in Alpine Chilli, Salad Mix and Raclette Mix varieties and is suitable for a wide range of dishes – from pasta through Risotto to delicious salads.

Alpigal: Sustainable chicken from the region
At Micarna, innovation goes beyond the individual products themselves. “Innovation also means that we take a close look at forms of production, scrutinise our farming methods and take new approaches,” explains Albert Baumann. In recent weeks, one of these projects was implemented successfully by Stauss Geflügel GmbH, a joint venture between Micarna and Bio-Geflügel Stauss: Alpigal. Local, sustainable poultry farming promises consumers the best possible quality of chicken from integrated production, with animal welfare standards that go beyond the legal requirements. “Alpigal closes the gap between organically and conventionally farmed chicken, appealing to customers who attach importance to animal welfare and regional production,” explains Robert Stauss, Director of Stauss Geflügel. In specific terms, this means that Alpigal chickens have sufficient space and opportunities to withdraw, as well as their own conservatory. The Alpigal units are no more than 660 square metres in size, and must be connected to a cold scratching area measuring a further 165 square metres. At the same time, an additional 10 per cent of the unit size has to accommodate raised seating. “And our animals are not exposed to routine use of antibiotics as a preventive measure,” explains Robert Stauss. In addition to this, the chickens are all reared at certified facilities that are no more than 200 kilometres away from the Stauss Geflügel slaughter and processing facility in Ertingen. “This enables us to keep the distances travelled by the animals short, and prevent them from being exposed to unnecessary stress. This too is part of an innovative and sustainable approach to animal welfare.”

Profile of the Micarna Group
The companies of the Micarna Group, which are part of M-Industry, produce high-quality meat, poultry, fish and egg products. Founded as a Migros meat processing company by Gottlieb Duttweiler in Courtepin in the canton of Fribourg in 1958, the Micarna Group currently comprises the Swiss-based companies Favorit Geflügel, Gabriel Fleury, Lüchinger + Schmid, Maurer Spezialitäten, Mérat & Cie., Micarna, Natura Bündner Fleischtrocknerei, Optisol, Rudolf Schär and Tipesca. In addition, Stauss Geflügel and KM Seafood, both of which are based in Germany, are also part of the group. Micarna Group companies deliver the very best quality thanks to state-of-the-art production plants and the highest standards in hygiene, product safety and occupational health and safety. The companies are committed to animal welfare and reducing the animals’ stress during transport. They ensure that the origin of every single product is completely traceable. M-Industry’s meat, poultry, fish and egg segment includes over 3000 employees and generated a turnover of CHF 1.5 billion in 2016.

Download media release

Micarna: Swiss tradition meets sustainable innovation

Lors de l’édition 2017 d’Anuga, le groupe d’entreprises Micarna présentera des produits traditionnels suisses, comme la fameuse viande des Grisons Natura allégée en sel, mais aussi un vaste projet pour le bien-être animal mené dans une exploitation d’engraissement de poulets (Alpigal) ainsi que trois grandes innovations dévoilées dans le cadre de l’exposition spéciale «Taste 17» – dont les snacks Micarna à base de farine d’insectes.

Nos habitudes alimentaires évoluent. Aujourd’hui, il ne s’agit plus seulement de créer de nouvelles saveurs mais principalement d’élaborer des solutions d’un genre nouveau pour produire, fabriquer et transformer la viande. La production des denrées alimentaires, en général, et la filière viande, en particulier, sont en pleine mutation. L’apparition de nouveaux aliments, comme les insectes, et notre besoin croissant d’en-cas simples et rapides, exigent une grande force d’innovation de la part des fabricants. Micarna, qui participera à l’Anuga en tant que groupe d’entreprises, apportera justement des réponses face à ces nouvelles tendances. «Nous voulons montrer les opportunités que nous offre cette mutation, quels nouveaux composants gustatifs nous pouvons créer et à quels changements nous devons également nous attendre en matière d’élevage», explique Albert Baumann, directeur du groupe Micarna.

Pop-Bugs: Un dip d'insectes raffiné qui fait beaucoup parler de lui («Taste 17»)
Quel goût a le monde de demain? Comment surprendre encore nos clients dans les années à venir? C’est précisément les thèmes qu’a choisi d’illustrer cette année le salon alimentaire de Cologne. Micarna profitera de l’exposition spéciale «Taste 17» pour présenter trois produits tout à fait inédits, dont les nouveaux Pop-Bugs. «Officiellement, c’est notre premier snack à base de protéines d’insectes», se réjouit Albert Baumann. Le directeur du groupe Micarna, qui a naturellement testé depuis longtemps la nouveauté, se dit lui-même séduit par ces boulettes de haché à base de farine d’insectes. «D’une part, parce que la question des insectes comme complément à notre alimentation est un grand sujet d’actualité. Et d’autre part, parce que nos Pop-Bugs sont appétissants à l’oeil.» Conditionnés dans une barquette en carton audacieuse avec plateau de service intégré, les Pop-Bugs peuvent être directement présentés et dégustés dans leur emballage raffiné, accompagnés des dips également fournis. «Le plaisir gustatif est au rendez-vous et le sujet de conversation tout trouvé.»

Chickies: Le plein de protéines en déplacement («Taste 17»)
Les matières premières de nos aliments évoluent, et notre mode de consommation aussi. Une évolution que le deuxième produit «Taste 17» illustre parfaitement: les Chickies. Ce petit snack de volaille découpé en dés est l’en-cas idéal, à déguster aussi bien dans la cour de l’école, qu’en randonnée ou qu’au sport entre amis. «Les Chickies de Micarna sont la réponse parfaite au débat actuel sur l’alimentation “Low Fat”», déclare Albert Baumann. «L’association des dés de volaille, des cerises et du miel ne promet pas seulement une expérience gustative unique mais constitue aussi un en-cas bien plus sain que tous les autres snacks sucrés.» Présentés dans un emballage refermable, les Chickies de Micarna sont parfaits pour faire le plein de protéines en déplacement.

Fleur de Viande: Un mélange d'aromates pour les amoureux des alpes («Taste 17»)
La nouvelle Fleur de viande a davantage été conçue pour de tranquilles soirées à la maison que pour un repas pris sur le pouce. Voici un mélange d’aromates raffiné à base de viande. Derrière cette idée surprenante se cache l’association de deux produits haut de gamme fabriqués en Suisse. «Fleur de viande est composée de notre viande des Grisons Natura, enrichie d’herbes aromatiques des Alpes.» Le moulin à aromates innovant à compartiment double permet, à table, de doser individuellement la proportion de viande et celle d’arômes. De quoi alimenter la discussion autour du mélange préféré de chacun. Le nouveau mélange viande-aromates se décline en plusieurs saveurs: Alpen-Chili, Salat-Mix et Raclette-Mix. Il se marie ainsi avec de nombreux plats, des pâtes au risotto en passant par de délicieuses salades.

Alpigal: Une production locale et durable de poulets
A Micarna, l’innovation va bien au-delà des produits. «Innover c’est aussi mener une réflexion sur les modes de production, remettre en question l’engraissement agricole et explorer de nouvelles voies», explique Albert Baumann. Ces derniers mois, Stauss Geflügel GmbH, une co-entreprise de Micarna et de Bio-Geflügel Stauß, a mené avec succès l’un de ces projets: Alpigal. Pour les consommateurs, la production locale et durable de poulets est le gage de volailles d’excellente qualité, provenant de l’installation d’engraissement intégrée, dont les normes en matière de bien-être animal sont plus strictes encore que les exigences de l’ordonnance sur la protection des animaux. «Alpigal comble la brèche entre mode de production bio et mode de production conventionnel. Il interpelle les clients pour qui le bien-être des animaux et l’origine locale des produits sont importants», ajoute Robert Stauß, directeur de Stauss Geflügel. En d’autres termes: les poulets Alpigal disposent d’un espace de vie suffisant, de possibilités de refuge et d’un jardin d’hiver. Les poulaillers Alpigal, dont la superficie n’excède pas 660 m2, doivent être reliés à une aire de grattage d’une superficie de 165 m2. De plus, 10 % de la superficie du volailler sont aménagés comme perchoirs surélevés. «Nous n’administrons pas d’antibiotiques à titre préventif à nos animaux», déclare Robert Stauß. Enfin, les poulets vivent tous sur des exploitations certifiées, situées à 200 kilomètres au plus de l’unité d’abattage et de transformation de Stauss Geflügel à Ertingen. «En garantissant un transport aussi court, nous évitons un stress inutile aux animaux. Cela fait aussi partie de notre vision durable et innovante du bien-être animal.»

Le groupe Micarna en bref
Les entreprises du groupe Micarna, qui appartient au groupe Migros, produisent de la viande, de la volaille et du poisson de qualité supérieure. Le groupe Micarna a été fondé en 1958 par Gottlieb Duttweiler à Courtepin, dans le canton de Fribourg. A l’époque, il s’agissait d’une entreprise de transformation de viande de Migros. Il englobe aujourd’hui les entreprises suisses que sont Micarna, Favorit Geflügel, Gabriel Fleury, Lüchinger + Schmid, Mérat & Cie., Optisol, Rudolf Schär et Tipesca ainsi que deux entreprises situées en Allemagne: KM Seafood et Stauss Geflügel. Grâce à des installations de production à la pointe de la modernité et au respect des normes les plus strictes en matière d’hygiène, de sécurité alimentaire et de sécurité au travail, les entreprises du groupe Micarna obtiennent un niveau de qualité en tout point remarquable. Elles s’engagent systématiquement en faveur de conditions d’élevage respectueuses des animaux et de transports engendrant le moins de stress possible. De plus, elles garantissent la traçabilité complète de chaque produit. Comptant près de 3’000 collaborateurs, le groupe Micarna a réalisé un chiffre d’affaires de 1.5 milliard de francs en 2016.

Télécharger communiqué de presse

Micarna: quand tradition suisse rime avec innovations durables