Plenty of animal welfare and no emissions

Ulrich Graf is the poultry master with a CO2-neutral fattening shed. A flying visit to a pioneer project in Swiss agriculture in idyllic Uttigen near Thun.

Swiss meat means that we take care of our livestock on our family farms.
Ulrich Graf, poultry producer

A pretty brown farm house in the beautiful Bernese Oberland: green window shutters, flowers, animals in the meadow and a sensational view of Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. On Ulrich Graf’s farm in Uttigen the romance of the traditional family farm is still intact – at least for the most part. This picturesque farm is run by an innovative farm with a pioneering character. There is no trace of pitchforks and old tractors. This modern farmer uses the latest equipment and especially his mobile phone. “I have all the data for my farm in this. I can look at it all, study the development and, of course, check the market situation”, grins the 53 year-old.

Micarna – Ulrich Graf, poultry

Perfect care and consistent quality

The farmer had the idea for this project around three years ago. “I wanted to do something with poultry earlier, but did not have the farm space. But when that changed we looked around for new revenue possibilities that are ecologically and economically sustainable and which could integrate well into our existing operation.” Through a colleague he learned about poultry rearing in partnership with Micarna. “Shortly thereafter I came across an advertising which said that Micarna sought Optigal masters.” It was not long before I met with Renato Feyer from Micarna for the first time to talk about our project.” The farmer was especially impressed by the good planning, the close supervision and support during the construction phase as well as while looking after the livestock. “As part of the poultry value creation chain, at Micarna we profit from a high and especially consistent livestock quality, the feed is always good and thanks to the collaboration with Krummen Kerzers, we even get support when it is time to load the animals.”

Micarna – Ulrich Graf, poultry

Perfect care and consistent quality

The farmer had the idea for this project around three years ago. “I wanted to do something with poultry earlier, but did not have the farm space. But when that changed we looked around for new revenue possibilities that are ecologically and economically sustainable and which could integrate well into our existing operation.” Through a colleague he learned about poultry rearing in partnership with Micarna. “Shortly thereafter I came across an advertising which said that Micarna sought Optigal masters.” It was not long before I met with Renato Feyer from Micarna for the first time to talk about our project.” The farmer was especially impressed by the good planning, the close supervision and support during the construction phase as well as while looking after the livestock. “As part of the poultry value creation chain, at Micarna we profit from a high and especially consistent livestock quality, the feed is always good and thanks to the collaboration with Krummen Kerzers, we even get support when it is time to load the animals.”

Micarna – Ulrich Graf, poultry

Good shed quality provides dirt on the roof

The animals also seem to feel comfortable in the shed that spreads out over 600 square metres. They do not notice the nearly 100 solar panels on their roof and enjoy the warm rays of sun in their well-lit conservatory. They have never had to freeze as a result of the pioneer project. “We have never had any problems”, emphasized Ulrich Graf. Only when it comes to the placement of the facility would I do it differently today, but not due to the actual harvesting of energy, but do to the dust. “We have the equipment directly below our ventilation. This means that for everything to function well and to have no problems with moisture in the barn, the animals kick up dust, which goes through the ventilation and lands on the roof and thus on the solar panels.” This coating of dust impacts the measurement figures, as a peek at the data on his mobile phone shows. “It is not really all that bad, but it does mean that we will have to soon clean the panels.” That is a job that Ulrich Graf, as well as some of installation work, intends to take on himself.

Pioneer project as financial gamble

The trained farmer did not come up with the idea of designing his chicken shed to be CO2-neutral on his own. “I assumed that we, as is usual for such barns, would install gas heating. Then a good friend who is specialised in heat pumps came up with the idea to produce the heat needed in the shed ourselves.” The initial idea was followed by detailed calculations and feasibility studies. “The challenge was that there were no comparable projects. Many questioned our plans: it cannot be done, will be much too expensive, is not safe enough. As for me, I was convinced that we could do it. I can stand here proudly today and say: everything fits perfectly; the project was more than well worth it.” Not just from an ecological perspective, but also financially. “Of course, it would have been cheaper to install customary gas heating instead of a heat pump. But for pioneer projects you have to have the courage to spend a bit of money. And today we live significantly more inexpensively with it. I refinanced my facility in less than five years.”

Family support on the farm

Not only does the innovative facility pay out for the family, the raising of chickens is a lucrative supplement income. The demand for Swiss chickens continues to grow and the work it takes to look after them during the fattening period fits perfectly with other work on the farm. That also goes for Ulrich Graf, who in addition to poultry fattening, also raises mother cows and cultivates crops and fruit. The trained farmer farms 13 hectares of land together with his wife and occasional support from his father and predecessor. “I took over the family farm around 25 years ago. My father and my grandfather lived here before me. It is wonderful to be able to continue such a tradition.” Whether one day one of his three children will take over the farm is still written in the stars. The interest in farming is there, but first they should stand on their own two feet and complete their educations. “We will work for ten more years, then we’ll see. But sure, it would be nice if the farm were to be taken over by the next generation and continue running.”

Pioneers will also be needed in the future

And who knows, perhaps the following pioneer generation will manage the next step towards even more sustainable agriculture: the possibility to store the heat generated as energy. “That remains the great challenge of our time. We generate energy today with sustainable raw materials, but how will we manage in the future to store the surplus energy that we produce in sunny weather so that we can use it at night or at a later point in time?” That is the challenge that confronts the entire energy industry. “It simply takes courage to progress and to risk something”, of that the 53 year-old farmer is convinced. Courageous people like Ulrich Graf and his family with the first CO2-neutral chicken shed in Switzerland.

Beaucoup de bien-être animal et pas d’émissions

Ulrich Graf est le premier engraisseur de volaille exploitant une halle d’engraissement neutre en CO2. En visite dans une exploitation pionnière de l’agriculture suisse dans le village idyllique d’Uttigen près de Thoune.

La viande suisse signifie que nous nous occupons de nos animaux dans nos exploitations familiales.
Ulrich Graf, producteur de volaille

Une jolie maison de ferme brune dans le magnifique Oberland bernois: des volets verts, des fleurs, des animaux dans le pré et une vue sensationnelle de l’Eiger, du Mönch et de la Jungfrau. Le romantisme de l’exploitation agricole familiale règne encore dans la ferme d’Ulrich Graf à Uttigen. Ou presque. La ferme pittoresque est dirigée par un agriculteur innovant au caractère de pionnier. Aucune trace de fourche à fumier ou de vieux tracteurs. Le paysan d’aujourd’hui utilise des engins modernes et surtout son téléphone portable. «Je vois toutes les données de mon exploitation ici. Je peux tout consulter, étudier l’évolution et naturellement vérifier la situation en bourse», sourit l’homme de 53 ans.

Micarna – Ulrich Graf, volaille

Du toit directement dans la halle à volaille

Ce n’est pas seulement la bourse internationale qui a fait les gros titres ces derniers mois. La nouvelle halle à volaille d’Ulrich a elle aussi suscité un grand intérêt dans les cercles agricoles. Mise en service au printemps 2015, la halle à volaille à Uttigen est la première, et même la seule halle d’engraissement en Europe qui soit neutre en CO2. «Nous ne consommons pas d’énergie fossile et nous n’émettons donc pas de substances toxiques. Un projet qui est intéressant pour nous aussi bien écologiquement qu’économiquement», déclare le père de famille. Un système énergétique sophistiqué comprenant une pompe à chaleur, des sondes géothermiques et une installation photovoltaïque sur le toit rend tout cela possible. Aux heures de pointe, la famille peut elle-même utiliser jusqu’à 60 pour cent de l’énergie récupérée, par exemple pour chauffer la halle à volaille à une température agréable de 36° C lorsque les nouveaux poussins arrivent.

Micarna – Ulrich Graf, volaille

Prise en charge parfaite et qualité constante

L’agriculteur a eu l’idée de ce projet il y a plus de trois ans. «Je voulais déjà travailler avec de la volaille auparavant mais je ne disposais pas de la surface agricole requise. Lorsque cela a changé, nous nous sommes mis à la recherche de nouvelles sources de revenus durables écologiquement et économiquement et qui s’intègrent facilement à notre exploitation existante.» C’est grâce à un collègue qu’il a misé sur l’engraissement de volaille en collaboration avec Micarna. «J’étais tombé sur une annonce selon laquelle Micarna cherchait des engraisseurs Optigal. Je me suis ensuite entretenu pour la première fois avec Renato Feyer de Micarna à propos de notre projet.» La planification, l’étroite prise en charge et le soutien aussi bien lors de la phase de construction que pendant l’accompagnement des animaux ont notamment convaincu le paysan. «En tant que maillon de la chaîne de création de valeur de la filière de la volaille, nous profitons par exemple d’une qualité élevée et constante d’animaux, le fourrage est toujours excellent et nous bénéficions même d’assistance lors du chargement des animaux grâce à la collaboration avec Krummen Kerzers.»

Micarna – Ulrich Graf, volaille

Une bonne qualité d’étable encrasse le toit

Les animaux ont eux aussi l’air d’être à l’aise dans la halle de 600 mètres carrés. Ils ne savent rien des quelque 100 panneaux solaires implantés sur la toiture et ils profitent des rayons chauds du soleil dans leur jardin d’hiver lumineux. Ils n’ont toutefois encore jamais été exposés au gel du fait du projet pionnier. «Nous avons eu aucune espèce de problème jusqu’à présent», souligne Ulrich Graf. Si c’était à refaire, il ne changerait que légèrement le positionnement de l’installation, non pas à cause de la récupération d’énergie mais plutôt du fait de l’encrassement. «Nous avons implanté l’installation directement sous notre ventilation. Comme tout fonctionne si bien chez nous et que nous n’avons aucun problème d’humidité dans l’étable, les animaux soulèvent la poussière qui atterrit sur le toit, et donc sur les panneaux solaires, par l’entremise de la ventilation. Un tel dépôt influence les chiffres de mesure, comme en témoigne un coup d’œil sur les données indiquées sur le portable. «Mais ce n’est pas grave, nous devrons simplement bientôt nettoyer l’installation.» Un travail dont Ulrich Graf s’acquittera lui-même, comme pour certaines parties de l’installation.

Projets pionniers ou risques financiers?

L’agriculteur diplômé n’a pas eu l’idée de concevoir une halle à volaille neutre en CO2 tout seul. «Je suis en fait parti du principe, comme c’est courant pour ce type d’étables, que nous allions installer un chauffage au gaz. C’est alors qu’un ami spécialiste des pompes à chaleur a eu l’idée de produire nous-mêmes la chaleur nécessaire dans la halle. Des calculs détaillés et des études de faisabilité ont été réalisés suite à la première ébauche. «L’absence de projets comparables était un défi. Nombreux sont ceux qui ont remis en cause notre démarche: ce n’est pas réalisable, c’est bien trop cher, ce n’est pas suffisamment sûr. J’étais moi-même convaincu que nous y arriverions. Je me tiens aujourd’hui ici fièrement et j’affirme: tout se passe à la perfection, le projet a été plus que rentable. Non seulement sur le plan écologique mais aussi sur le plan financier. «Cela aurait naturellement été moins cher d’installer un chauffage au gaz conventionnel plutôt qu’une pompe à chaleur. Mais sur un projet pionnier, il faut faire preuve d’audace et débloquer les fonds correspondants. Et aujourd’hui, nous vivons par conséquent pour bien moins cher. J’aurai refinancé mon installation en moins de cinq ans.»

Un soutien familial dans l’exploitation

Ce n’est pas seulement l’installation innovante qui s’est révélée rentable pour la famille. L’engraissement de volailles constitue lui aussi une source de revenus supplémentaires lucrative en elle-même. La demande de poulet suisse croît continuellement et la charge de travail liée à l’accompagnement pendant l’engraissement se combine aisément avec les autres travaux à la ferme. C’est aussi le cas pour Ulrich Graf qui élève des vaches allaitantes et qui cultive des terres et des légumes en plus d’engraisser de la volaille. Le paysage professionnel gère 13 hectares de terres avec son épouse et le soutien occasionnel de son père et prédécesseur. «J’ai repris l’entreprise familiale il y a près de 25 ans. Mon père et mon grand-père ont eux aussi déjà vécu ici. Je suis très content qu’une telle tradition se poursuive.» Personne ne sait encore si l’un de ses trois enfants reprendra un jour l’exploitation. Bien qu’ils manifestent de l’intérêt pour l’agriculture, ils doivent d’abord gagner leur indépendance et terminer leurs formations. «Nous travaillons encore dix ans puis nous nous pencherons sur la question. Mais il est clair que ce serait intéressant si la prochaine génération reprenait l’exploitation et continuait à la gérer.»

Les pionniers sont également demandés à l’avenir

Et qui sait, peut-être que la prochaine génération de pionniers fera un pas de plus dans la direction d’une agriculture encore plus durable: la possibilité de stocker la chaleur récupérée sous forme d’énergie. «Il s’agit là du grand défi de notre époque. À l’heure actuelle, nous pouvons récupérer de l’énergie grâce à des matières premières durables, mais comment ferons-nous à l’avenir pour stocker l’excédent énergétique que nous produisons lorsque le soleil brille et l’utiliser par exemple la nuit ou à une date ultérieure?» Un défi que tout le secteur de l’énergie se pose. «Il faut tout simplement des courageux qui font progresser le dossier et qui prennent des risques», l’agriculteur de 53 ans en est persuadé. Des courageux comme Ulrich Graf et sa famille, avec la première halle à volaille neutre en CO2 de Suisse.